top of page

What is HSK 1 Level test

Updated: May 17

As the name suggests, the HSK is a series of tests performed for native Chinese speakers to verify their knowledge of Mandarin Chinese. It consists of six independent tests at different levels. Depending on the level you can achieve, HSK will certify your skills from HSK1 to HSK6. And because HSK is so popular and accepted, people may immediately judge your Chinese skills when you mention HSK level.

HSK is organized by Hanban 汉技 (renamed CLEC in July 2020), a department of the Chinese Ministry of Education that is also responsible for Confucius Institutes. HSK level and score are mostly used by Chinese universities to admit international students, but anyone who wants to improve their Mandarin level or demonstrate professional Mandarin skills can take the HSK.

What is the lower level of HSK? The six levels in

HSK are HSK1, HSK2, HSK3, HSK4, HSK5 and HSK6. HSK1 is the lowest skill level and HSK6 is the highest skill. According to Hanban, the organizer of HSK, HSK1 and HSK2 thus correspond to basic Chinese skills. Finally, HSK3 and HSK4 introduce advanced Chinese skills. Finally, HSK5 and HSK6 as a measure of Chinese proficiency and fluency.

Since language mastery is such a practical subject, Hanban gives a brief description of the six HSK levels and explains what you can do at each level.

HSK Level 1 Test
HSK Level 1 Test

HSK level exam

When learning a new language, there are four important skills you need to communicate effectively. Usually you learn to listen first, then speak, then read, and then write. This is called 'language skills'.

Listening (receptive oral skills)

Speaking (productive oral skills)

Reading (receptive written skills)

Writing (productive written skills)

Most language tests in the world are designed to measure the four language skills, but this is not currently the case HSK. HSK is a 100% written exam that only includes listening, reading and writing and does not include the speaking section. There is no way to measure the ability to perform the speaking test based on HSK level and results. If you want to prove your Chinese speaking proficiency, you must instead take a separate test called HSKK (Hanyu Shuiping Kouyu Kaoshi, or "Chinese Speaking Test"). HSKK is a new test created by Hanban that comprehensively evaluates students' pronunciation, intonation, consistency, continuity, variety and fluency.

With such a long and influential history, it makes sense that many people say HSK testing is important. In fact, proof of fluency in Chinese is required upon admission to any Chinese school.

0 views0 comments


bottom of page